AGM Minutes

                         Sukkat Shalom Reform Synagogue                


Tel: 020 8530 3345


Minister:  Rabbi Larry Becker MA                Honorary Life President:  Frank Godson BA



Minutes of the 36th Annual General Meeting of the Sukkat Shalom Reform Synagogue held on

Thursday 17th November 2016 at 8.00pm




1.               The opening Prayer was provided by Rabbi Larry Becker


Those present:


Rabbi Larry Becker

Steve Wynne

Colin Burns

Sue Rosner

Frank Godson

Rachel Savage

Reeva Godson

Simon Sugarman

Mitzi Kalinsky

Sylvie Sugarman

Angela Jacobs

Jocelyn Shepherd

Tony Leach

Melvin Pedro

Andrew Lewis

Alex Richendoller

Jeff Lustig




2.               Apologies for absence and welcome from the Chair of Council


The Chair of Council – Rachel Savage welcomed everyone to the 36th AGM and announced apologies from Ida Lewinsohn, Sharon Grant and Jeff Soraff.


3.               Minutes of the 35th Annual General Meeting held on 19th November 2015


The Chair of Council asked for any comments. There were none.


The Chair of Council asked for a Proposer and Seconder for the adoption of the Minutes.


Proposer   Reeva Godson


Seconder  Andrew Lewis


A vote on a show of hands was carried.


4.               Presentation of the Trustees Report.

This Report had been circulated by post to all members prior to the meeting.


The Chair of Council asked for any comments.  There were none. Rachel thanked Frank Godson for all his hard work in preparing the Trustees Report and added that Council had requested that the Report should be less repetitive.


Frank replied that next year he was going to streamline the report and show the Treasurer’s relationship with Away with Tax.


5.             5.   Adoption of the Trustees Report.


The Chair of Council asked for a Proposer and Seconder for the adoption of the Trustees Report.

             Proposer   Frank Godson        Seconder  Mitzi Kalinsky

 A vote on a show of hands was carried.


6.               Presentation of the Accounts for the year 2015/2016.

The representative of Gerald Edelman, the synagogue’s Examiners, Colin Burns was called on to speak.

 Colin reported that as shown on page 4 he has prepared and examined the Accounts in accordance with the Charity Commissioners recommended format.

 On page 5 he highlighted the £11,000 additional expenditure although the income was the same in both years.  He explained that this was because of an increase in salaries, costs, and the admin of running a synagogue; being the reason the surplus was reduced over two years.

 The Balance Sheet showed an improvement in the net assets. 

 On page 11 Colin highlighted the reduction of the mortgage down to £10,860 and in two years the synagogue will be debt free.

 Rachel reported that the year 2014/15 included 11 pay periods whereas 2015/16 showed 13 pay periods.  This resulted in a £9000.00 difference between the 2 sets of accounts

 Colin asked if there were any comments and none were forthcoming.


7.               Adoption of the Accounts for the year 2015/2016

              The Chair of Council asked for a Proposer and Seconder for the adoption of the Accounts.

 Proposer   Frank Godson       Seconder  Jocelyn Shepherd

 A vote on a show of hands was carried and the Accounts adopted.

 The Chair of Council thanked Colin Burns for his hard work and she then presented him with a gift on behalf of the synagogue.


8.               Election of the Examiner for 2016/2017 in accordance with the Constitution.


The Chair asked Colin Burns if was prepared to continue with these duties for a further year.  He replied in the affirmative.

The Chair of Council declared that Gerald Edelman (Colin Burns) was prepared to carry out these duties for a further year and asked for a Proposer and Seconder.

 Proposer   Tony Leach     Seconder   Mitzi Kalinsky

 A vote on a show of hands was carrie

9.               Election of a Council for the year 2016/2017 in accordance with various articles of the Constitution.

              The Chair reported that as the number of those nominated and who have agreed to stand is 12, all                          members are elected.  As there were no dual nominations for any specific Council Office, this allowed all                nominated and willing to stand for specific Office to be elected.

 Frank Godson read out the names of the new Council of the Synagogue and explained that as the  position of Honorary Secretary is vacant Angela Jacobs will be the Acting Honorary Secretary.

 The Council for 2016/2017 is therefore as follows:


Honorary Officers


Chair of Council                                  Steve Wynne


                                                   Vice Chair of Council                          vacant


Senior Warden                                    Melvin Pedro


Honorary Treasurer                             Mitzi Kalinsky


    Assistant Honorary Treasurer             Jeff Lustig
Honorary Secretary                             vacant


Chair of Education                              Karen Watch


Other Council Offices


Head of Security                                 (Undisclosed)


      Chair of House                                    Jocelyn Shepherd


Care Coordinator                                Reeva Godson


Council positions                                 Ida Lewinsohn

                                                            Andrew Lewis

                                                            Sharon Grant



The new Chair – Steve Wynne conducted the rest of the AGM.


He started by thanking Rachel and presenting her with a gift as a thank you for her two years as Chair of synagogue.  He also stated that he was pleased that she had decided to stand again as a Council member so that her knowledge and experience was not lost. 


Steve also thanked those members of who had stood down as they had completed their seven year terms, Angela and Sue and Simon who was taking a year off before perhaps returning.  Angela will continue as Acting Hon Secretary for the next year.


The new Council has some challenges.  A change in the accounting formula, new governance rules, the continued maintenance of our building and a need to bring in new members for us to continue to survive.

10.       To consider any other Special Resolutions (Duly notified prior to the meeting) or any other business.


            There was none.


11.       The Chair of Council closed the meeting at 8.30pm and announced that the 1st Council meeting date was Tuesday 6 December 2016.









Tashlich 2017
Alex Slade & Andrew Golding were married in September in Blackfriars London Ec
Sukkah Building October 2017 

Shabbat Morning services 

Saturday morning at 10.00am 

1 Victory Road, Hermon Hill, Wanstead, London E11 1UL
Tel: 020 8530 3345 | Email:
Registered Charity Number 283615.
Site and contents ©2017 Sukkat Shalom Reform Synagogue. All rights reserved.